caffeinatedteaching

A place where we can let our thoughts "percolate" and join in the conversation.

New Questions December 11, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — caffeinatedteaching @ 8:45 AM

In the past it would irritate me when students would ask “Do I have to do it?”  when given an assignment.

I can honestly say that since I made a conscious effort to change how I teach and incorporate more technology, that question has changed.

Their new question is “What are we doing today?”

They have also been known to ask “What’s next?” and “When can I do that?”

Now those are questions that do not irritate me in any way!  They make me smile…  🙂

 

One Response to “New Questions”

  1. Mr Poole Says:

    Hey,

    I totally agree with what you are saying! This year I have had the opportunity to have a 1:1 classroom where each student has their own netbook, so part of their routine in class is to come in, get their materials, open their netbook and we begin. I have found that it is crucial to teach the students that tech. is a tool to enhance their learning and if the netbook or another form of tech is not the best tool for the lesson, then we use a diff. tool. They have truly embraced the mentality and are so engaged, excited, and ready to learn! I love it.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Chuck Poole (New Jersey)
    @cpoole27

    Feel free to visit our class blog with all the kids blogs linked to it here:

    http://www.throughourwindowroom101.blogspot.com


Leave a Reply

