caffeinatedteaching

A place where we can let our thoughts "percolate" and join in the conversation.

iPads in the Classroom October 5, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — caffeinatedteaching @ 8:03 PM
Tags: ,

I believe 100% in utilizing technology to engage my students as learners, incorporate their interests into their learning, allow for differentiation and teach/model digital citizenship.

One way I incorporate technology is with mobile devices accessing Apps.  I have been using my iPad in my first grade classroom for a couple of years now.  Prior to using my iPad I was using my iPhone with my students.

There have been many Apps through the years that my students and I have enjoyed using.

I thought I would take a moment and share some of the apps I like in the hopes you will add to my list!  Our school is looking at adding iPads into our classrooms and I would love to know what apps I might be missing!

1.  Word Wizard

    Word Wizard allows my students to build words while hearing their sounds.  It also has a spelling practice component.  

2.  Train Phonics (CVC)

Train Phonics provides sound matching with consonant-vowel-consonant words.  

3.  Lakeshore Learning Materials – I believe this company puts out quality products and have some of their software for my interactive projector.  I was elated when I discovered they are now producing Apps!

One of their Apps is Letter of The Day and we have been using it to review letters and sounds as well as handwriting to start our first grade year.  

4.  For math, I discovered Apps created by Classroom Focused Software.  Wow!  They cover many of our number sense concepts in first grade.  One of their Apps is What’s Hiding? where they utilize ten-frames to practice missing addends- if I know I have 10 and 3 are shown, how many are missing?  Some of their other apps are:  Word Problems, Count Sort, Pattern Sets, Thinking of a Number, What Time….and that’s just to name a few!

5.  Also for math I use Hands-On Math Hundreds Chart by Ventura Educational Systems which gives you an interactive hundreds chart.  They also have an App for place value using place value blocks.

6.  For Social Studies we created a Stop Motion Animated Short (very short) film using our school map.  We used the App, iMotion HD to create this:

Our Map Movie

This is a short list compared to the amount of Apps I use…but it’s a start!  Please share with me the Apps you like too!

 

Leave a Reply

